Blue Screen Of Duds

Where the alter ego of codelust plays

Windows Vista: A Tale of fear and loathing from Redmond

with 2 comments

I had my first major run in with Vista on Sunday after agreeing to fix Nikhil’s new laptop with a XP install. Since XP did not have the required SATA drivers, it would not recognize the hard disk drive and allow me to wipe it clean and ‘upgrade‘ the laptop to Vista. That left me poking around to see how the beast was and it is a user experience par compare in terms of being an absolute disaster.

First thing that gets your notice are the number of alert boxes that pop up for almost everything you do. I do “sudo” on OSX for everything that requires admin level access and I am also used to authenticating key actions, but Vista goes out of its way to make the experience almost entirely painful.

Secondly, they have worked REALLY hard to add another level of abstraction to existing screens and menus. For instance, the Control Panel, when you dig deeper, has pretty much the same layout and items on it as XP, but on top it is a totally different beast.

As a ground rule, what I’ve seen is that almost everything is harder by differing magnitudes on the entire operating system. If I had my own way, I would gladly pop the latest Ubuntu CD, wipe out Vista and forget all about it.

Microsoft may have made Vista one of the most stable OSes it has ever released, but what good is a stable OS if it is a royal pain to use in the first place? And I’ve not even gotten into the 14 different versions it has and the perpetual question: “will it do full Aero?” In any case, the eye candy is not even fun to use and serves very little purpose with the constantly throbbing and pulsating buttons.

I can only say that I’ve never been happier about switching.

Written by shyam

December 17, 2007 at 2:22 pm

Posted in Microsoft

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmm …

    Been using Vista Ultimate for a couple of months now. The CPU is an old AMD Athlon XP 2000. Other than the hiccups you have mentioned along with the fact that it freezes while booting ( at the progress page, now and then ), there isn’t much of a problem, I felt. The user access permission thingie is a pain, agreed but then I have faced the downside of people fiddling with my settings …
    :)

    Yes, it does full AERO. Wish I had a TFT screen though.

    WillOTheWIsp

    December 17, 2007 at 5:00 pm

  2. I’ve not heard too many complaints about it being unstable. The main complaints are about sluggishness and having to click too many times. There is a feeling of zabardasti about a lot of the product.

    The only recent MS upgrade that I’ve liked is Office 2007, which is quite awesome and nothing can even come close to touching it yet. And the server line post Windows Server 2003; then again, we don’t use Microsoft on our server lines :-)

    shyam

    December 17, 2007 at 5:47 pm


Leave a Reply

