Blue Screen Of Duds

Where the alter ego of codelust plays

On learning the Curve

with 2 comments

On a fateful day last month, I gave into temptation (and driven, in part, by frustration) and got myself a Blackberry Curve. Thus, I am now sans a soul and am now getting more and more comfortable with commandeering my ride on the information highway with the famed dual-thumbed approach.

Incidentally, I have not activated either the Blackberry Internet Service (BIS) or the office Blackberry Enterprise Server on it yet. I am using it for now purely as a full QWERTY keypad phone and using the Opera Mini Beta 4 of surf the interweb. The verdict for now is that I love the phone.

I did regret buying the phone earlier, when I could not find any decent way to get it to use the EDGE connection that I have on Airtel. At that time, for reasons that were very convoluted, it was impossible for me to get online with the phone and I even considered selling it off. Then, one day, I found the Opera Mini 4 beta and found ways to easily replicate almost all of what I used to do on my trusty E50.

I will post a longer review of the phone later, but the shorter version reads something like this: Things I love about it: The interface is snappy, fast and very intuitive. Same goes for the message threading.

Things that I hate about it: It badly needs a browser that is better than the piece of shit that it ships with. Opera, if they have even half a brain, will release Opera Mobile for it. I can see almost every executive who has one lining up to pay good money for it and it is kind of sad that Opera has not done that.

That said, Opera Mini makes my day on the device. And strangely, I’ve found the EDGE connection to be much faster while using the Curve as a tethered modem than the E50, but it does have a bad habit of getting stuck (only with the packets, not the apps) every now and then.

BTW, if you were wondering why the Blackberry Facebook application does not work on your phone, it is because you need an EDGE connection, other than BIS on your Blackberry to get it to run. Strange, but true.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,
Written by shyam

November 7, 2007 at 5:08 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. For some reason the Opera Mini 4 doesn’t work on my BB 8300 – it says “failed to establish conn”

    Did you make any changes in your TCP settings of the phone ? I am also on Airtel EDGE.

    Amit Agarwal

    December 7, 2007 at 4:21 am

  2. Amit,

    Yes, you have to manually put in the APN airtelgprs.com in advanced>tcp. No username, password.

    shyam

    December 7, 2007 at 4:53 am


Leave a Reply

