Blue Screen Of Duds

Where the alter ego of codelust plays

Life in the browser

leave a comment »

Okay, before I start, I need to say one thing. If we are looking to live our lives inside the browser, it has to manage memory (yes, I am looking glaring at you Firefox) a zillion times better. My normal laptop usage is to never switch it off or restart it for days on end. During the daily commute it is set to hibernate and once I am home or in office, I pick up from where I left off.

Now, I’ve had Firefox running for 2 days now and it has eaten up a whopping 476 MB of physical memory. I really don’t give a damn whether it is the 20 extensions which I have that is bleeding my laptop of these resources. If it is the extension model that is one of the core value propositions of the Firefox platform, there needs to be a solution that will fix this problem. Asking me to ditch the extensions is not a solution. Honestly, 500 MB of RAM is what fairly graphics intensive games takes up on PCs these days, it is not something any self-respecting browser should ever have to consume.

Back to the title of the post. My switch to Google Reader has progressed in a manner considerably better than what I’d expected. One very good positive from the switch is that it has saved me a lot of bandwidth. Leaving GreatNews on overnight often would cause me to pull around 100 MB worth of data (that does not include any podcasts), whether I end up reading any of the items or not. Using Google Reader treats the feeds pretty much like IMAP email, you get the ‘unread’ count from Google in the left pane, but you don’t download the items till you click on them. And for some strange reason I quite like the ‘river of news’ view in Google Reader than in GreatNews.

More later.

Technorati tags: , ,
Written by shyam

April 21, 2007 at 8:30 am

Posted in Blogs, Technology

Leave a Reply

