Blue Screen Of Duds

Where the alter ego of codelust plays

Nokia E50 GPRS on roaming issues

with 20 comments

I had a really weird problem while on the road for most of the past five days, that using GPRS on the E50 through Dial Up Networking (DUN) just would not work. Other than a severe lack of time that prevented me from investigating the issue, I also wanted to wait till I got back to Delhi to see if everything was okay with the phone and it connects well from here.

The entire problem was really bizarre. I have used GPRS on roaming before, while I still had the Moto Razr V3i and it would connect and work well enabling me to use my laptop without any problems. Moreover, in Bombay, where I could not get a decent Airtel signal it would easily switch me to another provider. Of course, GPRS would not function on either the phone or the laptop when you are on another provider, but that’s to be expected.

On the E50, I could not register on any other network this time. Thankfully, I could find an Airtel signal everywhere, but I just could not get the phone to work as an USB modem and dial out to the interweb. Strangely, GPRS within the phone worked flawlessly. I could use the internal browser, check mail, use the Google Mail client and also do everything else that I used to do earlier.

This is really weird behaviour and I’d tried making every possible change to the DUN settings to try and make it work, but to no avail. Has anyone else experienced this before?

Technorati tags: , , , ,
Written by shyam

March 6, 2007 at 12:00 pm

Posted in /etc, Mobile

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Finally someone somewhere, that had the same problem. I have E50 also, and have never managed to get it working with XP’s dial-up networking. All connection attempts terminate after hanging awhile in “Registering your computer on network” phase with “Error 720”. And I can tell that every possible solution that can be found in the Web has been tried, unfortunately with no help at all.

    Most bizarre thing is that any E50’s internal GPRS stuff works, browsing, email, Gmail, just name it.

    I’ve managed to track this problem down to Windows PPP. It sends some authentication related message to the phone, which then rejects the message, causing the Windows to terminate the dialing attempt.

    Olli Aalto

    April 14, 2007 at 9:25 pm

  2. Can’t get it to work. I tried to upgrade the PC suite version, the cable dirvers, etc. to no avail. I previously had a nokia 6230i – worked flawlessly. Extremely frustrating. I hope someone can provide an answer, or at least some direction.

    Marc

    June 6, 2007 at 6:21 am

  3. I have the same problem as well, just bought my Nokia e50 not so long ago and was never able to get it working. Browsing the web on the handset itself its fine, its just when you need to use it as a modem that its a problem. Myself i get error 735, PPP control protocol terminated. Hasnt any of you chaps found how to get around this problem. Its really a problem for me cause once in i while i require to dialup to my office RAS for work related stuff and everytime need to use my old Nokia 6230.

    TIMad

    June 8, 2007 at 1:27 pm

  4. I had a Nokia E65 and had a similar problem. What’s interesting is that this problem seems only to happen to notebook, not desktop computers. Here are the details of what happen:

    If I use the Nokia PC Suite, click the “connect to internet”, choose “Nokia E65 USB Modem”, then choose my mobile carrier, click “Finish”, then “Connect”. I will be able to connect to internet on my desktop computer at ~115kb or ~400kb, depends on if I use bluetooth or USB cable. I tried this on two Dell desktop running Windows XP SP2, both of them can use the Nokia phone as a modem and connect to internet via GPRS. However, if I use the exact same settings on my notebook (IBM Thinkpad X60s, running XP SP2), I got an error message saying: “Failed to establish a network connection!”, no matter if I use bluetooh or USB cable. If I click the modem directly, I got an error message saying: “Registering your computer on the network…, Error 720: A connection to the remote computer could not be established. You might need to change the network settings for this connection.” On the other hand, the Nokia E65 synchronizes with my notebook without any problem. I called Nokia support and reinstalled the Nokia PC suite without any success. I was also instructed to configure the connection manually in the PC Suite/Connect to internet without any success, while the same manual setting worked for my desktop.

    John

    June 17, 2007 at 11:31 am

  5. Same problem with a Nokia E61i handset and IBM T43 laptop. However, my old Nokia E61 worked fine with DUN but not via PC Suite. It’s stumped our IT helpdesk…!

    Chris Crombie

    June 18, 2007 at 7:14 pm

  6. i just have got mobile office on my E50 and new Lenovo thinkpad. can anyone – guide me on how to go about connecting my thinkpad to the internet?

    vinu

    July 9, 2007 at 12:41 pm

  7. Hi!
    I facing the same problem too with my PC (Win XP With PC Suite v6.84 and standard bluetooth modem) and Notebook (Asus G-1S with Vista with no installed PC Suite). Getting error 734 The PPP link control protocol was terminated. I believe that the problem is in mobile’s software Nokia E70.
    No ideas! I’ve tried to change the settings for GPRS connection, installed new settings for the GPRS connection from my GSM provider, i change the settings for the modem on the PC – nothing is helping. I believe that may be a new instalation of my Nokia’s firmware maybe help :((

    Andreas

    September 14, 2007 at 11:29 pm

  8. Just tested with my XP SP2 desktop PC, and the dial-up connection works fine with USB cable. It seems that this problem is strangely related to laptops only?

    Olli Aalto

    September 22, 2007 at 7:07 am

  9. I have the same problem..

    Also with a IBM Thinkpad R60 notebook

    Getting error 720 when trying to get internet on the
    laptop using a modem (dun) on my Nokia E90 :(

    Could be something to do with the software from IBM installed on the laptop like Access connections. .

    :( :(

    baaits

    November 30, 2007 at 3:24 am

  10. I have the same problem.

    I have a Lenovo ThinkPad R61 notebook.
    I use my Nokia N95 as a modem.

    On any other computer (desktop or laptop), I am able to use my nokia as a modem, an then access to the web or wap.

    On Lenovo laptop, I manage to install Nokia Drivers, an then install the modem function of the phone.
    But when I try to connect the modem, I have a fatal error (blue screen) which reboots the laptop.

    I deduce that Nokia and Lenovo (IBM) are incompatible. And Lenovo is to blame, because Nokia modem works fine on other computers.

    Definitely, need some help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    hubert52

    December 6, 2007 at 12:18 pm

  11. Strange. So many people face the same issue.
    Am using E65 paired vi bluetooth on my acer aspire 4520.

    I am supposing there are som settings on the phone we need to make in order to connect to the internet. On the Settings > Connectivity > Packet Data > what acess point should i be selecting? My Access point name is “Vodafone_www” and there is another access point name inside that which is “www”. Now my question is, which name to enter on the Packet Data connection screen?

    As far as error 720 is concerned, am sure there should not be any settings on the computer which is restricting the access.

    Hope to find a solution soon.

    basak

    March 12, 2008 at 12:04 pm

  12. same prolem in vaio with vista ultimate, ppp error and it disconects,
    before, the same mobile in win xp, works prefectly

    COPYCAT

    March 14, 2008 at 3:52 pm

  13. I have a Lenevo T61 and a Nokia N95. It does not work and gives an error 734 The PPP link control protocol was terminated.

    Stefan

    April 24, 2008 at 4:02 pm

  14. Same problem here Lenovo T61 w. XP SP2 and Nokia E51 latest firmware – tried all version of PC Suite 6.xx – no luck. Also tried with E60 and that doesn’t work either. However both phones wotk fine with OTA on older T43 w. XP SP2. So many hours wasted so far :(

    Robert

    April 30, 2008 at 1:58 am

  15. I have a lenovo R61i Laptop running under Windows XP.
    The Bluetooth driver is from Broadcomm.
    When i try to connect to the internet with my Nokia 7610 as modem, i get a bluescreen which restarts the laptop.
    After that i erased the broadcomm driver and replaced it with the widcomm driver of an external bluetooth USB stick.
    But it’s the same problem: the phone gets connected, the G-Symbol appears in the phone and then the laptop gets a bluescreen and restarts.
    Nokia and Lenovo don’t work together

    Peter Michalowsky

    July 11, 2008 at 11:25 pm

  16. Same problem with my nokia 3110 classic phone with my HP 6360 Laptop. When I was searching through google about this issue, I found your postings here. I also realized from your postings here that this issue is only with laptops!!! That’s really strange though!! Has anybody figured out a solution to this??? Eagerly waiting.
    Giri

    Giri

    July 15, 2008 at 2:58 pm

  17. Ppp is terminated

    Niraj

    October 22, 2008 at 4:24 pm

  18. Same problem on Nokia E61i + Acer Aspire One (A110) :(

    Glex

    December 24, 2008 at 5:17 pm

  19. I have exactly same problem with my E65 and Lenovo T61 .. anyone found any solution ?

    Levent Sevim

    January 13, 2009 at 6:03 pm

  20. I fixed it in my E61:

    Go to Settings -> Connection -> Packet data -> Access Point

    Change the value to your access point. In my case the value was grameenphone as my operator is GrameenPhone Bangladesh.

    I dialed and it worked fine!

    Saady Amin

    February 22, 2009 at 3:38 pm


Leave a Reply

