Blue Screen Of Duds

Where the alter ego of codelust plays

Persistent Gmail Logins?

leave a comment »

Over the last two days I have seen something strange. I do not know if it is because of something that I had done at my end, but Gmail sessions now seem to carry over through my browser sessions these days. They also include hibernation and complete power cycles of the laptop. When I fire up Firefox afterwards, I am logged in immediately into my Gmail inbox, if I had not bothered to log out during the earlier session.

Even though it was a bit of a pain to log in every time I started a new browser session, a persistent e-mail cookie from Gmail is a bit of a security risk. A lot of people close their browser window, without logging out from their e-mail, assuming that the session too would end at that point. Yahoo! Mail used to do the same a long time back, but they changed their ways. In any case, I had always believed that cross-session logins were a bad idea?

Update: Weird. I tried reproducing the behaviour across different Firefox sessions and it did happen. Then I logged out of Gmail, closed Firefox and then started it again. It worked as expected with Google asking me to provide the username/password, but the old persistent behaviour stopped after that. No, I don’t smoke anything other than regular tobacco, thanks.

Written by shyam

May 20, 2006 at 9:39 am

Posted in Google, Technology

Leave a Reply

