Blue Screen Of Duds

Where the alter ego of codelust plays

Yahoo! Mail reactivation sucks

with 4 comments

I have two main Yahoo! Mail email ids. The first is my oldest email account on the internet and the other is more recent, which I use mostly for logins at other websites. As you can imagine, I do fall off the cliff when it comes to Yahoo’s inactivity clause every now and then, which results in the mailbox being wiped clean.

Which is quite fine by me. It is a free service, so they can stick to their guns about it. What is troubling is that while the reactivation process used to work fine earlier, now it is a royal pain in the ass and everywhere else. When they deactivated my account a couple of months ago (even when I was using the same login for my Flickr account), I was sent to the reactivate page, where I had the option to select between the free service without the deactivation proctection and the paid Yahoo Mail Plus (was that not discontinued, by the way?).

The trouble started after that. I picked the free option and it asks me to enter my password again to confirm the request, which I did, only to be sent back to the reactivation page. At that time I thought it would be a bug/unpredictable behaviour and let things be.

Today, a couple of months later, I tried to reactivate my email account and ended up with the same problem. Then I decided to opt for the paid option and read what all they were offering me with the paid option and hopped on to the detailed version of the offerings, just for the heck of it. After which I went back to mail.yahoo.com and my email account was magically reactivated.

If Yahoo! does not want people to reactivate using the free option, they should mention it somewhere, that inactive accounts won’t be reactivated unless you switch to the paid option. And since this is a single-sign-on solution (like I said earlier, I use the same login for Flickr), what actually constitutes inactivity according to Yahoo?

Update: Yahoo! Plus and Yahoo! Mail Plus are two different products.

Technorati Tags: , ,

Written by shyam

May 2, 2006 at 10:51 am

Posted in Technology

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i am not geeting my mail.what is the problem with my mail account.nand how it can be right,

    yasir

    May 28, 2006 at 8:29 am

  2. can anybody help me out that my yahoo id mukspal@yahoo.com has been deactivated. how can i get it reactivated once again.

    Regards…Mukesh

    Mukesh kumar

    January 2, 2007 at 4:27 pm

  3. My mail account has deactivated am not able to access please help me

    Rgds,
    koti

    kaleemulla koti

    December 16, 2007 at 1:34 pm

  4. Months ago,my email was deactivated and since then i’ve been trying reactivate it,but all 2no avail.Pls what do i do?

    Classical baby

    November 3, 2008 at 8:03 pm


Leave a Reply

