Blue Screen Of Duds

Where the alter ego of codelust plays

Archive for April 21st, 2007

Life in the browser

leave a comment »

Okay, before I start, I need to say one thing. If we are looking to live our lives inside the browser, it has to manage memory (yes, I am looking glaring at you Firefox) a zillion times better. My normal laptop usage is to never switch it off or restart it for days on end. During the daily commute it is set to hibernate and once I am home or in office, I pick up from where I left off.

Now, I’ve had Firefox running for 2 days now and it has eaten up a whopping 476 MB of physical memory. I really don’t give a damn whether it is the 20 extensions which I have that is bleeding my laptop of these resources. If it is the extension model that is one of the core value propositions of the Firefox platform, there needs to be a solution that will fix this problem. Asking me to ditch the extensions is not a solution. Honestly, 500 MB of RAM is what fairly graphics intensive games takes up on PCs these days, it is not something any self-respecting browser should ever have to consume.

Back to the title of the post. My switch to Google Reader has progressed in a manner considerably better than what I’d expected. One very good positive from the switch is that it has saved me a lot of bandwidth. Leaving GreatNews on overnight often would cause me to pull around 100 MB worth of data (that does not include any podcasts), whether I end up reading any of the items or not. Using Google Reader treats the feeds pretty much like IMAP email, you get the ‘unread’ count from Google in the left pane, but you don’t download the items till you click on them. And for some strange reason I quite like the ‘river of news’ view in Google Reader than in GreatNews.

More later.

Technorati tags: , ,

Written by shyam

April 21, 2007 at 8:30 am

Posted in Blogs, Technology

Contentsutra Meetup

leave a comment »


Contentsutra Mixer: Delhi
Originally uploaded by Uploade by The Unrest Cure.

It was quite a decent experience and honestly a considerably better experience than the Barcamps and Momos. It was not possible to meet and interact with more than a handful of the junta who had gathered there, but it was nice to see so many youngish people who are eager to do something in their lives other than end up in the usual doctor, engineer corners. India, is nice to see you change.

But there were funny asides to the meet, like how every other person was asking for Alok Mittal, almost raising him to the stature of Pam Anderson wearing only a mink coat, followed by the anguished sighs that half of the gathering let out when they figured he’d left a bit early. Maybe, as I’d suggested to Nikhil, there should be a mini business networking component to these meets so that we can considerably reduce the amount of friction that is involved in finding the person whom you want to talk to and also getting the message across about what you want to talk to. Then again, that would probably take away the informal nature of the event.

Incidentally, I don’t look that drunk normally (even when I am _really_ drunk) and yes, I do need a haircut.

Written by shyam

April 21, 2007 at 8:02 am

Posted in Blogs, Delhi, India, Take-two

India 2.0: 1024 and bleeding white?

with 2 comments

A long, long time ago…
I can still remember
How that 800x layout used to make me smile….
And I knew if I had my chance
That I could make those people change
And, maybe, they’d be happy for a while.

Four of India’s major news websites, Times of India, Hindustan Times, Indian Express and NDTV recently went under the knife recently and got a facelift each for themselves. All of them are now a spanking 1024 pixels wide, having thrown into the dustbin the old 800 pixel wide layout that the industry has persisted with for a very very long time. There still is not much in terms of innovation in any of their efforts, it is mostly a clean up job aimed at organising the information more logically, but it is a welcome break from the ancient layouts these sites used to have and as a bonus they load up much faster too.

I particularly like Times of India’s effort, HT is pretty much a rip-off of NYT and NDTV looks like a rush job that they are still fixing in full public view, but ToI is a pretty clean and logical redesign and the new mail service I’ve seen is also quite spiffy. I think a certain Mr Pankaj Gupta is finally getting make a mark there and knowing how hard that can be, it is a laudable effort.

Strangely, the portals of Indiatimes and Rediff are still on the 800 layout. I wonder how long before see them also being changed to 1024 and from what I know the audience is not that different on the related news sites. In any case, I am only glad to see the back of the 800.

Technorati tags: , , , ,

Written by shyam

April 21, 2007 at 7:26 am

Posted in Browsers, Media, Technology

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.